I am an ass…

I had an epiphany this morning. Apparently I am an ass because I felt that I should get a pass on actually having to be accountable for my actions, or non-actions as they may be. For the past year I have not been holding myself accountable for the things I need to be doing as a person to continue to maintain my integrity. I suppose I would give myself a pass up until about May of last year, but anything beyond that I really should have been getting my shit together and carrying on like the 35 year old adult I am.

By no means am I past my strange experiences from this past year, but I have to ask myself, how many others are so much worse off than I am? And using the poor job market as an excuse doesn’t count… I could sub, or work at McDonalds for that matter.

I suppose I have been dragging my feet because I feel like my next choices are going to be the one’s that I will have to live with for the rest of my life, but if my experiences from this past year have taught me anything, it should be that at anytime I can pick up and change direction if I want to. That is a loaded statement and I could rationalize SO much with it, but that’s for another post…

So, I will sub. I need to figure out what I will do with Lainey in the morning and getting her to school, and find someplace for Ella to go on short notice when necessary. But I will do it, because so many other people are in more worse predicaments than I.

Thanks to those of you who gave me the wake up call I needed to stop dragging ass. I’m not saying it won’t happen again, but at least I’ve figured it out for the moment.

Posted on October 27, 2011, in Why, yes. Yes I am crazy.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

