And then I thought the doctor was going to tell me I had lung cancer…

So I finally broke down and went to the doctor today because I’ve had this cough and congestion thing going on that includes wheezing and a bit of burning in my chest when I cough.  I usually am the biggest hypochondriac around.  Web MD has been my best friend and I have always loved to look up my symptoms and self diagnose.

Anyway, I haven’t been too upbeat with myself this week.  I’ve spent a lot of time thinking if I didn’t have my girls I would probably just give up.  Then I wondered if I already had really given up but was just putting up a front like I haven’t.  All of that depressing jazz aside, when I went to the Prompt Care this afternoon I was slightly concerned about pneumonia, but not cancer…

I had to go to the Prompt Care because my doctor is apparently on hiatus and everyone else in the office was booked because it was Friday and everyone waits like me until Friday to decide to call the doctor.  After waiting an hour I was called in and seen by a doctor of few words.  She listened to me but didn’t say much.  Then asked if I smoked.  I said yes. Then she told me she wanted to order a chest x-ray just to be on the safe side to make sure everything looked ok because if she didn’t it probably wouldn’t be done anytime soon.

HELLO. Hypochondriac here. I started freaking a bit, then I started praying, “Oh God please don’t let me die, I don’t want to die. I want to live!” I’m sure it was amusing. Turns out all was clear, but I got your message loud and clear God.  No more giving up talk… I swear you’re the most sarcastic God I know. Well, the only one really, but still…

Posted on February 24, 2012, in Random. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

